Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Before I Fall

Title: Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Pages: 480-
Published: March 2, 2010
Summary: What if you had only one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?
Samantha Kingston has it all—looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12th should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it’s her last. The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. In fact, she re-lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she had ever imagined.

My Thoughts:
I'm pretty sure it's getting harder for me to hate a book or at least give it a bad rating! Lauren Oliver delivers in her debut YA book, Before I Fall. I didn't think I was going to be wrapped up in this book and wasn't expecting at all to be left so emotional at the end. It was hard to put it down! So you can say is exceeded my expectations!

Oliver gives insight to high school and the cruelty that surrounds everyone, even the popular girls. The plot was unlike any book that I have ever read. It had an interesting and unique plot.
In the beginning I hated Sam. You see the mean girl tactics her and her friends use to supreme over Thomas Jefferson High. They pick on those around them and act as if rules don't apply to them. Classic 'Mean Girls'.
Then, Sam's day begins all over again and you slowly see her become something more. You see her realize who and what she has become and you watch as she tries to change it and save her own life. Seven days until she is at peace with her place in the world and how her life will go. It's really a fascinating story. It leaves you thinking about what you would do if you have a chance to re-live your last day and what you might have changed in your life.

Oliver is a fantastic writer! I can't wait for other books from her!

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event spotlighting upcoming releases we are highly anticipating. It is hosted atBreaking the Spine.

Comes out August 31, 2010!
Title: Nevermore
Author: Kelly Creagh
Pages: 528
Summary: Cheerleader Isobel Lanley is horrified when she is paired with Varen Nethers for an English project, which is due—so unfair—on the day of the rival game. Cold and aloof, sardonic and sharp-tongued, Varen makes it clear he’d rather not have anything to do with her either. But when Isobel discovers strange writing in his journal, she can’t help but give this enigmatic boy with the piercing eyes another look.
Soon, Isobel finds herself making excuses to be with Varen. Steadily pulled away from her friends and her possessive boyfriend, Isobel ventures deeper and deeper into the dream world Varen has created through the pages of his notebook, a realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life.
As her world begins to unravel around her, Isobel discovers that dreams, like words, hold more power than she ever imagined, and that the most frightening realities are those of the mind. Now she must find a way to reach Varen before he is consumed by the shadows of his own nightmares.
His life depends on it

My Thoughts:
LOVE LOVE LOVE the cover! It really gives us an idea just how different Varen and Isobel are. While Varen is dark and an outsider, Isobel is the popular preppy cheerleader. I love the summary of the book and all i gotta say is... I can't wait for AUGUST 31th :)
What are your thoughts?

Monday, May 24, 2010


Title: Spells
Author: Apilynne Pike
Pages: 368
Published: May 4, 2010
Rating: ****
Summary: Six months have passed since Laurel saved the gateway to the faerie realm of Avalon. Now she must spend her summer there, honing her skills as a Fall faerie. But her human family and friends are still in mortal danger--and the gateway to Avalon is more compromised than ever. When it comes time to protect those she loves, will she depend on David, her human boyfriend, for help? Or will she turn to Tamani, the electrifying faerie with whom her connection is undeniable?

My Thoughts:
Here's another beautiful cover! Although I think Wings cover is better, Spells is overall the better book to me.
It had a lot more action and nail biting moments! Books like this really remind me why I love reading so much. Spells was more believable. I felt like I was watching the story unfold before me as I read. The book dealt alot with the love triangle. Many people might have different views on the weither or not that's a bad thing, but I think it's good. It let's us in more on Laurel, Tamani and David's relationship. Pike kept me on the tip of my toes the whole book, and then ended it with a massive cliffhanger that made me desperatly want to read the next book! Too bad it comes out next year. [*tear*]

Life in Avalon isn't easy for Laurel. While everyone there remembers her, she remembers nothing. Not only does she not remember anyhting, but she has to learn proper Faerie rules. So Laurel is send to Avalon to attend an academy that will help her advance in her fairy studies. Tamani and David are left to wonder what choices she will make as she starts her training in Avalon. Laurel's not only torn between Tamani and David but she's torn between two worlds. She must face the hardest choice of all. Stay in the human world with David, or go back to the faerie world with Tamani. The trolls still pose a threat, and new mysterious characters enter the fray.
If you loved Wings, you'll definitely want to read Spells!

BTW, I'm 100% Team Tamani! ;)

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Wings and Spells

I recently finished Aprilynne Pike's new book, Spells, which came out May 4, 2010 and is the sequel to Aprilynne Pike's #1 New York Times best-selling debut, Wings. Spells continues the story of a not-so-ordinary girl named Laurel.
-Six months have passed since Laurel saved the gateway to the faerie realm of Avalon. Now she must spend her summer there, honing her skills as a Fall faerie. But her human family and friends are still in mortal danger--and the gateway to Avalon is more compromised than ever.
When it comes time to protect those she loves, will she depend on David, her human boyfriend, for help? Or will she turn to Tamani, the electrifying faerie with whom her connection is undeniable?

Now my question is...
Which book is better?

My review tomorrrow!

In My Mailbox

Rachel Caine, the best selling author of The Morganville Vampire series and the Weather Warden series, came to Murder by the Books in Houston a few weeks ago. I was so excited because i live only thirty minutes away! But as always, Houston traffic got the best of me and I got there too late :(
BUT Mrs. Caine (her real name is Roxanne Longstreet Conrad) is such an amazing, wonderful author and emailed me back when I emailed her. Not expecting it at all, she let me mail my copy of Kiss of Death to her and she signed it for me! :) I'm still going to wait for her to come to the Houston area again because it's one thing to have one of your favorite authors sign a book for you but meeting them too...that's life-changing. :)

Thank you so much Mrs. Caine!

If you haven't already, read her books! The 9th book in The Morganville Vampires series, Ghost Town, comes out October 26, 2010 and the 9th book in the Weather Warden series, Total Eclipse, comes out on August 3, 2010 (my birthday!!) :)

Vampire shows take over

Ever since the Twilight phenomenon struck, major television stations like ABC, CBS and HBO began producing hit vampire series for all of us vampire addicts out there. Many of the series are based on bestselling authors; The Vampire Dairies (L.J Smith), True Blood (Charlaine Harris) and Moonlight (Kimberly Raye's Dead End Dating book series). But now ABC decides to add another series to their list starting this summer!

The Gates premiers Sunday June 20, 2010!

From ABC:

Nestled inside a private mountain community are The Gates. The image of perpetual suburban bliss, each street is lined with perfectly manicured homes protected by the massive iron gates, but a dark and delicious secret is buried just beneath the surface of this picturesque neighborhood.

Like most families that settle inside The Gates, the Monahans are unmoored from a complicated life they abandoned in Chicago. Named the new police chief of The Gates, Nick Monahan is expecting a change of pace in this quiet suburb. Nick's wife, Sarah, and their children, Charlie and Dana, are embarking on new adventures as well. Their house is to die for, but amidst the excitement, Sarah is still burdened with the revelation that her husband may not be the man she thought he was. Charlie and Dana will also face some challenges of their own: Along with navigating the trials and tribulations of adolescence, they'll also face the daunting task of fitting into their new upscale school, where their new friends run in tight-knit packs.

There's something very different about this place, almost... haunting. Unions will be complicated by friends with unnatural influence, insatiable housewives will struggle with ravenous cravings, and teenagers will be cursed with keeping their beastly instincts in check. The Monahans are facing an uncertain fate. Nick is about to be tangled up in a mystery where he will begin to piece together the dark truth about their new home, and the supernatural elements that lurk behind the shadows of The Gates.

The Gates stars Frank Grillo as Nick Monohan, Marisol Nichols as Sarah Monohan, Rhona Mitra as Claire Radcliff, Luke Mably as Dylan Radcliff, Travis Caldwell as Charlie Monohan, Skyler Samuels as Andie Bates, Colton Haynes as Brett Crezski, Chandra West as Devon, Victoria Platt as Peg Mueller, Justin Miles as Marcus Jordan and Janina Gavankar as Leigh Turner. The Gates is produced by Fox Television Studios. The series is executive-produced by Gina Matthews and written and executive-produced by Grant Scharbo and Richard Hatem.

My sister and I are HUGE vampire/paranormal fanatics and although I loved The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and Moonlight, I'm not so sure about this one. I'm not that fond of who they picked for some of the cast either.
What are your thoughts?

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Question Thursday

I've decided I'm going to start a schedule for sprecial days, so seeing how it's Thursday I'm going to make that day a question day! :) So here it goes!

What is your favorite book of 2010 so far?

I would say mine is probably The Iron King for now.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

La Femme Readers giveaway contest!

La Femme Readers has a very good giveaway contest going on! So make sure you go over to her blog and check it out! (link on my right sidebar)


ARC of Wereling by Steve Feasey
Finished Copy of Exit Strategy by Ryan Potter
ARC of The Knife That Killed Me by Anthony Megowan
ARC of Party by Tom Leveen
ARC of The Karma Club
ARC of Before I Fall
Amazon or book depository pre-order of Grace by Elizabeth Scott
Amazon or book depository pre-order of The Iron Daughter (Book #2) by Julie Kagawa
Amazon $10 gift card
2010 Twilight Calender off of Amazon
Your choice of a Team Edward or Team Jacob T-Shirt off of Hot


-There will be 3 winners : First winner picks whatever three prizes they want, second winner picks two and third winner picks one.
-Open to US and Canada only (Sorry, I'm broke as a joke.)
-Contest deadline ends on June 1, 2010

(Please enter through form and not comments field, thanks!)


Monday, May 17, 2010

Kiss of Death

Title: Kiss of Death
Author: Rachel Caine
Pages: 256
Published: April 27, 2010
Rating: *****
Summary: Vampire musician Michael Glass has attracted the attention of a big-time producer who wants to cut a demo and play some gigs-which means Michael will have to enter the human world. For this, he's been assigned escorts that include both a dangerous immortal as well as Michael's all-too-human friends. And with that mix of personalities, this is going to be a road trip from hell...

My thoughts:
In her eighth book of the Morganville Vampires series, Rachel Caine delivers yet another fast-paced book. And i LOVE it! One of the best things about this series is the continuity. I love how fast-paced the books are, none of this "Two days later, or A week later nonsense" in the series!
In Kiss of Death, Claire and her friends get temporary passes out of Morganville but have to be escorted by the nasty Oliver. The trip soon goes sour when Oliver decides to make a pit-stop in the middle of nowhere. Trouble as usual occurs, but it only gets worse when they end up in a small isolated town full off blood-thirsty vampires! To make things even more worse, Morley and his crew (having been promised passes out of Morganville) show up and take Claire, Eve and Shane hostage to use as their walking blood banks. In order to save the town and themselves from Bishop's blood-thirsty vampires, Claire and the gang must team up with Morley and try to either give the vampires the cure or destroy them.
Kiss of Death ties up a few things from the previous book and is a great transition book, setting up many of the storylines for the ninth book, Ghost Town (out November 2010). Rachel Caine's Morganville Vampires is by far my favorite series! It is a MUST READ! :)
Blog Templates by Delicious Design Studio