Friday, July 30, 2010

50 Followers Contest Winners!!

Hey guys! I went ahead and picked the winners for my 50 Followers Contest!

I will email the winners shortly, and they will have 48 hours to respond or I will pick new winners!

Using ...the winners are....

Jeremy West


Natalie (Mindful Musings)

Once Upon a Review

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Author Interview - Emma Michaels (The Thirteenth Chime) Blog Tour

Thanks to Harmony from Harmony's Radiant Reads, I was asked to be a part of this awesome tour. I'm sure by now, you have all heard of blogger-turned-author, Emma Michaels. Her debut book The Thirteenth Chime comes out August 13th. (Friday the 13th!!)
So let's all go out and support her and wish her luck for a whole series!

Want more of Emma?
She will be joining us again in August for a BIG August Blogger Bday Bash!

Visit Emma Michael's web site(s):



Q) How did you come up with the idea for The Thirteenth Chime?

A) I had the inspiration for the book shortly after coming to Washington one night during a bad storm that knocked the power out in my area. We went next door to share a few candles and for the company. Thunder shook the house, lightning flashed, lighting up the room we were in, even through the draperies. Then the the sky was silent. The silence made my breath catch and in the next moment, the antique grandfather clock in the house began to chime. The sound echoed throughout the house and made my heart jump into my throat. I unconsciously reached out to hold someone's hand, desiring to feel a bond, and it was in that moment that "The Thirteenth Chime" was born.

Q) Who or what inspires you the most?

A) God. I am not a deeply religious person and there is a lot I haven't made my mind up about yet, but I do feel that much of inspiration comes from somewhere. I have also been fortunate in that my fiance and family supports me in my writing endeavors.

Q) Do you have any helpful techniques that help you write?

A) If I am writing a particularly emotional scene, I find it helpful to immerse myself into the moment by listening to music that matches the mood. I also believe that it is very important to write every day because writing is like a muscle and working out - if you want it to grow and get stronger, you have to work at it.

Q) Are there any authors you look up to?

A) Tamora Pierce is someone that not only inspired me when I was younger, but she has helped to encourage me to in many ways. I had the blessing of meeting her in person and it was a wonderful experience for me.

Q) What are you reading this summer?

A) I just finished "Shiver" (great book!) and I am about to read "The Dark Divine". After that, who knows but I am looking forward to "The Dark Divine" and really want the sequel to "Shiver", "Linger"!

Thank you so much for the interview and to everyone reading! Your support means so much to me! I hope you will love "The Thirteenth Chime"!!! -Emma


The Thirteenth Chime by Emma Michaels
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Releases: August 13, 2010
Bokheim Publishing

No one knew of its existence until it was removed from the attic upstairs. In a beautiful house that overlooks the sea, an antique clock has the power to change the course of their lives. The power the clock resonates will not only force Destiny and ex-boyfriend David on a journey into the depths of one man's mind long dead, but into the mind of a man filled with hatred and bent on revenge. With the only clues to the nature of the clock having disappeared into the sea, Destiny and David must retrace the steps the man had taken into the darkness, before they fall prey to the trap he had set in motion over half a century ago. Hatred never dies.

The Thirteenth Chime Book Trailer

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Mandy Hubbard You Wish re-cover contest

Princess Bookie is having an awesome contest where you re-create a cover for You Wish by Mandy Hubbard. Here is my cover I am entering!


What if all your wishes really came true?

Kayla McHenry’s sweet sixteen sucks!
Her dad left, her grades dropped, and her BFF is dating the boy
Kayla’s secretly loved for years. Blowing out her candles, Kayla thinks:
I wish my birthday wishes actually
came true. Because they never freakin’ do.

Kayla wakes the next day to a life-sized, bright pink
My Little Pony outside her window. Then a year’s
supply of gumballs arrives. A boy named Ken with
a disturbing resemblance to the doll of the same name
stalks her. As the ghosts of Kayla’s wishes-past
appear, they take her on a wild ride . . . but they
MUST STOP. Because when she was fifteen? She
wished Ben Mackenzie would kiss her. And Ben is
her best friend’s boyfriend.

Once Upon a Review

Teaser Tuesday (The Crescent by Jordan Deen)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

~ Grab your current read
~ Open to a random page
~ Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
~ BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
~ Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teasers:

"I wasn't sure I would be able to find that house that Brandon had taken me to. But at this point, I needed answers for what was happening to me. My skin felt like it was on fire and I couldn't stop sweating."

pg.135 "The Crescent" by Jordan Deen

Once Upon a Review

Saturday, July 24, 2010

In My Mailbox (July 18th-24th)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren

and inspired by Alea from Pop Culture Junkie

I got some really cool stuff today! And also a book from a blog/book tour.
(Sorry the pictures are not that great. I'm using my brothers phone since my new iPhone hasn't came in)

For Review:
Rising Shawdow by Jacquelyn Wheeler

(LaFemmeReaders book/blog tour)


5 Infinite Days postcards
A bag of lavender (smells AWESOME!!)
Postcards are for the Infinite Days swag contest! Sorry, I really want the lavender :P

Doodled Bookplates from Julie Kagawa!!
I'm pretty sure it's Grimalkin! Isn't this the cutest thing EVER?!

These are for a contest that is going to be in August! So be on the look out for it!

Once Upon a Review

Friday, July 23, 2010

Book Blogger Hop: July 23-26

It's Friday so that's time for the Book Blogger Hop. The hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books. If you want to participate head over to her blog and sign up!


The book I am reading is Rising Shadow by Jacquelyn Wheeler. It is a self-published book about a girl named Ashlyn who discovers she is a Soterian, a person who develops powers when the balance of good and evil shifts to far in evil's favor.

For those of you who are stopping by from the hop, hello and welcome to my blog! :)
Do you like contests? Take a look on my sidebar for a list of my current contests going on.
Fell free to take a look around and leave feedback if you want. I like knowing ways I can improve my blog to make it better.
Don't forget to become a follower if you like what you see.
I am also going to be hosting a blog tour for the author of Infinite Days, Rebecca Maizel.
So if you would like to participate, please email me.

Once Upon a Review

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Teaser Tuesday & Updates/Blog Tour!

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

~ Grab your current read
~ Open to a random page
~ Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
~ BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
~ Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teasers:

"Furiously, I turned my shoulder toward Granna and crossed my arms. "You don't have to go." Just because Granna had to stick her nose into it. Ruin everything. I was so angry with her I was afraid I would say something I'd regret. I could feel her eyes boring into my back."

Pg.54 - "Lament" by Maggie Stiefvater



Right now, I am working on something EPIC with 3 other bloggers!
It's kind of a big secret so I will fill you in on the details some other time.
I loved loved LOVED Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver and Linger books so when I found out she had two more books, and Faerie books at that, I was so excited! So right now I am going to read Lament and Ballad, then work on reviews for all four of her books ;) I probably might just have a Maggie Stiefvater week!

I have some more review I'm working on so I will post them as soon as I am done. It's getting harder to write reviews about books I absolutely loved, I don't know why I have such a hard time expressing my love for a book!

I am also expecting some books coming my way so I am VERY excited about that. Those will def be read and reviewed own personal books on my shelves can wait :P

I am also going to be doing a blog tour for the amzing author, Rebecca Maizel in honor of her debut book release! I'm not sure how many bloggers there are going to be so if you are interested please email me!

The tour is most likely going to be in September, a month after her debut book Infinite Days releases.

Make sure to mark August 3rd on your calendars and pick up a copy of Infinite Days!

Once Upon a Review

Saturday, July 17, 2010

In My Mailbox (July 11-17)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren
and inspired by Alea from Pop Culture Junkie

I forgot to put my IMM up yesterday!
This week has been another slow one. *sigh*
But I did get some awesome goodies!

Forgive My Fins Swag from Tera Lynn Childs
(ALOT of bookmarks, the picture doesnt even show how many!
ALOT of temp. tattoos
Splash Team button)

I recently joined Tera's Splash Team so I now have these lovely bookmarks and temp. tattoos to pass out! Want some? Email me!

Once Upon a Review

Cry Havoc! Mortal/Devices Giveaway!

I have yet to read Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instrument series but I have hear so many wonderful things about her books! So im going to let you know about an amzing contest that Cry Havoc! Reviews is doing. *Im crossing my fingers until August 15th!*

Up for grabs is:
1.1 Clockwork Angel Bookmark
2.1 Signed HB copy of City of Glass
3.1 HB copy of The Mortal Instruments complete set books #1-3 (3 books total)
4. A chance to win an ARC copy of the Clockwork Angel!
•One (1) entry per person
•ends 8/15/2010 @ midnight 12am CST
•US only


Once Upon a Review

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Okay....So i'm pretty sure I thought I had already posted my review on this? I guess not, so here it is.

Title: The Iron King
Author: Julie Kagawa
Published: February 1st, 2010
Pages: 363
Rating: 5 flowers
Summary: Meghan Chase has never fit in at her
small-town high school, and now, on the eve of her 16th birthday, she discovers why. When her half brother is kid...more Meghan Chase has never fit in at her small-town high school, and now, on the eve of her 16th birthday, she discovers why. When her half brother is kidnapped, Meghan is drawn into a fantastical
world she never imagined--the world of Faery, where anything you see may try to eat you, and Meghan is the daughter of the summer faery king. Now she will journey into the depths of Faery to face an unknown enemy . . . and beg the help of a winter prince who might as soon kill her as let her touch his icy heart. The Iron King is the first book in the Iron Fey series.

My Thoughts:

An amazing debut novel that was hard to put down once I devoured the very first few pages!

After her father's strange and unexpected disappearance when she was six, Meghan Chase's life has never been the same. With her sixteenth birthday just around the corner, Meghan descovers, the hard way, that her long-time best friend Robbie has been keeping life changing secrets from her. Pulled into a world of blood-thIrtsy faeries and other mythical creatures, she journeys to the Nevernever in hope of finding and rescuing her half brother.
The world of the Fae is as terrifying as it is beautiful so during her quest Meghan encounters a lot of mishaps. There is nothing sweet and gentle about the fey in this book.
A romance between Meghan and the deadly winter prince stirs but by her side the mischievous summer creature, Puck, seems to have laid an equal claim to her heart.
The book uses many of Shakespeare's famous (feary) characters; Puck, Summer King Oberon, Queen Titiana and Winter Queen Mab.

Julie Kagawa's debut novel, The Iron King, is an intriging new take on the world of Fae. With a compelling mix of action, humor and heat-warming romance, The Iron King is by far one of my favorite YA novels of 2010
Kagawa's writing is beautifuly done and her imagery is outstanding! She brings her characters to life very well.
I can honestly say there is nothing I didn't like about this book! The Iron Fey series has hooked me in and left me wanting more and more.

Once Upon a Review

Winter's Passage by Julie Kagawa

Title: Winter's Passage
Author: Julie Kagawa
Published: June 1st, 2010
Pages: 51 (ebook)
Rating: 5 flowers
Summary: Meghan Chase used to be an ordinary
girl...until she discovered that she is really a faery princess. After escaping from the clutches of the deadly Iron fey, Meghan must follow through on her promise to return to the equally dangerous Winter Court with her forbidden love,
Prince Ash. But first, Meghan has one request: that they visit Puck--Meghan's best friend and servant of her father, King Oberon--who was gravely injured defending Meghan from the Iron Fey. Yet Meghan and Ash's detour does not go
unnoticed. They have caught the attention of an ancient, powerful hunter--a foe that even Ash may not be able to defeat....

My Thoughts:

This 50-something page ebook was every bit as intoxicating as the first book in The Iron Fey series, The Iron King. Julie Kagawa sure does know how to pack a lot of action, drama and romance into just 51 pages!
Never before has a short story made me feel every emotion possible.

Winter's Passage is a short novella that takes place between The Iron King and The Iron Daughter. It follows Meghan and Ash on their journey from her house to the winter court and Queen Mab. In the book, we get to see more into the world of faery and some of the interesting creatures that live there.

Overall, Julie Kagawa has left me stunned by how well she can write by fitting a whole new adventure in 1/5th of a regular book!

For those of you who have read The Iron King, you are in luck because if you stop by you can download your FREE copy of Winter's Passage. You can also get it on Julie Kagawa's website.
Hurry now because it is only free until July 31st!

Once Upon a Review

The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa

Title: The Iron Daughter
Author: Julie Kagawa
Published: August 1st, 2010
Pages: 368
Rating: 5 flowers
Summary: Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron Fey, iron-bound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.
Worse, Meghan's own fey powers have been cut off. She's alone in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can't help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

My Thoughts:

The Iron Daughter is an intoxicating read that will leave you thinking about it long after you've already read it!

After The Iron King, I was pretty much obsessed with Julie Kagawa's world of Fey. And of course Ash! The Iron Daughter just notches up that addiction.
In Kagawa's second book of her Iron Fey series, we get to know more about the deadly Winter Court and the Winter Princes. The book is an outstanding emotional roller coaster of triumphs, love and tragedy.

During her stay at the Winter Court, Meghan begins to see that she doesn't know who to trust anymore. When things go completely out of control (not going to give away any spoilers), Meghan find herself teaming up with an unlikely ally.

The romance in this book left me squealing in excitement, like Oh Em Gee! The love triangle between Meghan, Puck and Ash is put-you-on-the-tips-of-your-toes intense.
After reading The Iron Daughter I seem to want to make my own Rowan team though. :P
I liked that the ending wasn't a cliff hanger but you still get the impression that something vital has yet to be accomplished.

This has got to be one of the most remarkable sequels I have ever read. It outshines The Iron King in ways I didn't even think were possible. I absolutely cannot wait to see where Meghan and Ash take us in The Iron Queen, coming out February 2011!

Once Upon a Review

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Once Upon A Read-A-Thon Day 2 and 3 Update

Today is the last day of the Once Upon a Read-a-Thon.
I wasn't able to do my Day 2 update yesterday because yesterday was just, well, insanely busy for me.
Day 2: I read only one book (I had an advance galley on my phone)
Shadow of the Vampire by Meagan Hatfield
Day 3: I plan on reading
Shadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus
Instead of reading two books for Day 3, I'm going to use my time to write up reviews!
Now off to the bookstore to grab Shadow Hills!

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

The Naughty Book Kitties Contest!

Want to win an ARC of Clockwork Angel?! The Naughty Book Kitties is haveing an amazing contest that end this Friday!
So hurry and go enter!

21 pages ARC Contest!

21 Pages is holding an amazing contest over at her blog!
◦Closes August 20th, 2010.

Here’s exactly what’s up for grabs: Your choice of:
Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Linger by Maggie Stiefvater
Firelight by Sophie Jordan
The Ivy by Lauren Kunze, Rina Onur
Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Monday, July 12, 2010

Once Upon A Read-A-Thon Day 1 (wrap-up)

Today is the first day of the Once Upon A Read-a-Thon !
I'm excited because it gives me a lot of motivation to try and read as much as I can!
For the Read-a-Thon, I have decided to try and read at least 5 YA debut novels.
And I'm also going to try and participate in all the mini-challenges!
Today I have finished 2 books!

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
A Blue So Dark by Holly Schindler
Be looking for my reviews soon!
I will post tomorrow what books I will be reading for Day 2, since i'm going to take a break from reading and work on my blog/reviews! :)

Once Upon A Read-A-Thon Mini Challenge #2

Challenge #2 by The Eager Readers

Mini Challenge Part 1: Post about your favorite fictional couple.
A few of my favorite couples are:
1. Meghan Chase and Prince Ash - The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
2. Claire Danvers and Shane Collins - The Morganville Vampires series by Rachel Caine
3. Elena Gilbert and Stefan Salvatore - The Vampire Diaries by L.J Smith

Mini Challenge Part 2: Post about a crossover couple.
This one was REALLY hard! My crossover couple is:
1. Bronwyn Clare (Raised by Wolves) and Jacob Black (Twilight Saga)
I think they would make a hot couple! (pun intended because werewolves are hot!) :P Their both stubborn and hard-headed and they have a lot in common.

Once Upon A Read-A-Thon Mini Challenge #1

Today the Once Upon A Read-a-Thon has started!
I'm excited because it gives me a lot of motivation to try and read as much as I can!
For the Read-a-Thon, I have decided to try and read at least 5 YA debut novels.
And I'm also going to try and participate in all the mini-challenges!

Mini-Challange #1

1. From Book Crazy:
We all have a favorite book, right?
We all have a favorite character, right?
What I want you to do, since I am a lover of all things music and photo related is to pick one - or both - and put them together!!
Does that make sense? HMM, lets see if I can explain better, basically pick your favorite book and/or character and pair it with a song and/or photo that reminds you of the person or setting in the book!

For this challenge, since I don't have an absolute favorite book, I will talk about one of the books of 2010 that left me on my toes, holding my breath, and kept me up in the late hours of the night.
That book would be The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa!

I recently finished this amazing book that I recived as a Galley from the publisher and just like the first book in the series, I was left wanting more!
This book has easily got to be in the top of my favorite books of all time.

I think my favorite setting in this book would be inside the Unseelie Court.

For some reason, I imagine the Unseelie Court being like the Ice Hotel in Quebec.

Now my favorite character....Rowan!
Yes! Rowan! Don't get me wrong, I love Ash, but Rowan...mmm he's a bad boy, older, and hey, more 'experienced' *fans self* :P

“Rowan’s experienced. Most everyone, fey and mortal boys included would give their teeth to have him to themselves for a night.”

I think the sexy blue-eyed Ian Somerhalder reminds me of Rowan. His peircing eyes and wicked grin just screams wicked-ice-prince! ;)

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Chick Lit Teens Contest!

For those of us who don't have the pleasure of living in NYC and wasn't able to attend BEA, Chick Lit Teens has an amazing contest going on! One winner will win a BEA in a Bag prize pack!

Here are the awesome prizes you can win!

•The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney (ARC)
•Firelight by Sophie Jordan (ARC)
•2 chapter preview of Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala
•Seth Baumgartner's Love Manifesto by Eric Luper
•The Duff by Kody Keplinger (ARC)
•Strand bookmark
•Class of 2k10 bookmark
•Change of Heart bookmark
•Perfect Chemistry series bookmark
•The Absolute Value of -1 bookmark
•Class of 2k10 official BEA t-shirt

Contest ends 12:00 midnight PDT on Saturday, July 17th. Here are the official rules of entry:
•You must be a follower of the blog
•You must be 13 years of age or older
Extra entries -- Twitter (+1), blog post (+5), new blog follower (+1), old blog follower (+3).


Excited?? I am! I'm dying to read Firelight!!!

Saturday, July 10, 2010

150 followers! So Contest update!

Win your choice of one of these new YA releases!
If I pass 75 entries, I will either add another winner, or winner will get two (2) books!
(comments on this post will NOT count as entries.)

If I get up to 200 followers before July 30th, I will add books for pre-order!!!

Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson

Title: Claire de Lune
Author: Christine Johnson
Pages: 336
Published: May 18th, 2010
Torn between two destinies?
Claire is having the perfect sixteenth birthday. Her pool party is a big success, and gorgeous Matthew keeps chatting and flirting with her as if she's the only girl there. But that night, she discovers something that takes away all sense of normalcy: she's a werewolf.
As Claire is initiated into the pack of female werewolves, she must deal not only with her changing identity, but also with a rogue werewolf who is putting everyone she knows in danger. Claire's new life threatens her blossoming romance with Matthew, whose father is leading the werewolf hunt. Now burdened with a dark secret and pushing the boundaries of forbidden love, Claire is struggling to feel comfortable in either skin. With her lupine loyalty at odds with her human heart, she will make a choice that will change her forever?.

My Thoughts:
Chirstine Johnson takes a completely new turn on the whole werewolf concept that is popular today in YA lit. First off, ALL werewolves are female. That means, sadly, there are no mega-hot werewolf guys! *sigh*Jacob. ;) You can't be bitten by a werewolf to become one, you have to be born one. And last, the existance of werewolves isn't a big secret because humans know.

On Claire's sixteenth birthday, she find out two thing. The gorgeous Matthew has a crush on her and the biggest shock of all, she is turning into a werewolf.
Claire was a really likeable character and the relationship between her and Matthew was just as enticing. It reminded me kind of a mondern Romeo-and-Juliet.

Claire de Lune was a fast book, you didn't have to wait until the middle for something to happen. It happened right at the begining. Normally, I don't like that aspect in books but Johnson pulled it off by allowing the rest of the book to be about Claire's adaptation into a werewolf and her forbidden romance with Matt.

Overall, Christine Johnson's debut book was an outstanding read and anyone who enjoys a good romance and werewolf story will adore it! I'm looking forward to more of Johnson's work and the sequel to Claire de Lune!

In My Mailbox (July 4-10)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren
and inspired by Alea from Pop Culture Junkie

(isn't that the cutest little mailbox door ever?)

Sadly, I don't have anything new this week. But that's a good thing, right? With my TBR pile most likely taller than me when stacked up, I don't need to buy any new books right now.

Althought I'm dying to go get a few that are already out

What did you get this week??

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event spotlighting upcoming releases we are highly anticipating. It is hosted at
Breaking the Spine.

Once In a Full Moon by Ellen Schreiber

To be published on December 28th, 2010

Summary: Beware of a kiss under the full moon. It will change your life forever.
Celeste Parker is used to hearing scary stories about
werewolves—Lege nd’s Run is famous for them. But when, after an unnerving visit with a psychic, she encounters a pack of wolves and gorgeous, enigmatic Brandon, she must discover whether his transformation is more than legend or just a trick of the shadows in the moonlight. Brandon may be Celeste’s hero, or he may be the most dangerous creature she could encounter in the woods of Legend’s Run.
The bestselling Vampire Kisses author, Ellen Schreiber, weaves together psychic predictions, generations-old secrets, a town divided, and the possibility of falling in love with a hot and heroic werewolf—the perfect
formula for
what happens...once in a full moon.

My Thoughts: I am SOOO excited! I mean seriously, look at that gorgeous cover! Ellen Schreiber's Vampire Kisses series is amazing, so no doubt her new werewolf series will be too. If only December wasn't so far away!
Blog Templates by Delicious Design Studio