Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Teaser Tuesday (Blood Fued)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

~ Grab your current read
~ Open to a random page
~ Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
~ BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
~ Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teasers:

"I tightened my grip on my sword and shifted slightly. I could probably leap down and land right on his head if I timed it right. Instead, he gurgled and turned to ash."

pg.133 "Blood Fued" by Alyxandra Harvey

Monday, June 28, 2010

It's Monday! What are you reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?
A fun meme hosted by Sheila at One Persons Journey Through a World of Books. It's where we gather to share what we've read last week and our reading plans for this week. So go check out her blog and join in on the fun!

My TBR pile for this week!

For Review:
Mistwood by Leah Cypress (finished, see review HERE)
Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson (finished, review soon)
Incarceron by Catherine Fisher
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
13 to Life by Shannon Delany
Blood Fued by Alyxandra Harvey
Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey

(not the prettiest pictures)

Im glad to say that I have knocked out not one but TWO books out of my reading pile for this week! Hopefully I can finish at least three more by Saturday. Im a fast reader ;)

Right now, I am reading 13 to Life and Incarceron (so I can have it finished before I read Sapphique on Kelsey's book tour)
Hearts at Stake is going to be next!
Both books are amazing so far!

What are you reading this week??

Mistwood by Leah Cypress

Title: Mistwood
Author: Leah Cypress
Pages: 304
Published: April 27th, 2010
The Shifter is an immortal creature bound by an ancient spell to protect the kings of Samorna. When the realm is peaceful, she retreats to the Mistwod.
But when she is needed she always comes.
Isabel remembers nothing. Nothing before the prince rode into her forest to take her back to the castle. Nothing about who she is supposed to be, or the powers she is supposed to have.
Prince Rokan needs Isabel to be his Shifter. He needs her ability to shift to animal form, to wind, to mist. He needs her lethal speed and superhuman strength. And he needs her loyalty--because without it, she may be his greatest threat.
Isabel knows that her prince is lying to her, but she can't help wanting to protect him from the dangers and intrigues of the court . . . until a deadly truth shatters the bond between them.
Now Isabel faces a choice that threatens her loyalty, her heart . . . and everything she thought she knew.

My Thoughts:
I'm not really sure how to write this review without spoilers because everything happens towards the beginning.
In fear of his kingdom's safety, Prince Rokan, travels to the Mistwood to find an ancient creature known to protect the Samornian royalty. She is called the Shifter. When he finds the Shifter, he binds her with magic to serve and protect him. The Shifter (Isabel) remembers nothing but starts to regain some random flashes of memory while she stays in Prince Rokan's castle. She soon finds out a devastating truth about the prince and of her own identity. But she can't help to shake the feeling that she needs to protect Rokan no matter what or who she might not be.

I must say, I was a little disapppointed after reading this book. I was expecting a book filled with action, suspence and romance. But sadly, I only got two out of three. I wish Leah Cypress would've focused a little more on the relationship between Rokan and Isabel. (I'm a sucker for romance!)I feel that there was something there, but the book didn't confirm it really. The book itself was a little confusing sometimes about the whole Shifter situation.
But with all that said, It didn't stop me from enjoying the book. The first chapter drew me in!
I really loved Mistwood's plot. And her character Isabel, whenever she wasn't confusing me, was my favorite. Isabel is fierce and strong-willed. When she starts to show human emotions, she can quickly shut them off. She says throughout the book that she "doesn't have a choice" when it comes to risking her own life to save the people she protects but I really feel that if she did, she wouldn't change the way she does things.
Over all, Mistwood was a good, short read. I really hope this is the first in the sequel, I want to know what happens with Isabel and Rokan!

Saturday, June 26, 2010

In My Mailbox (June 20-26)

Hey guys, I'm so sorry i've been MIA the past few days. Stupid computer troubles! Grrr.
Anyway, this week has been a pretty good book week. I was able to go get a few new books that i've been waiting forever to get!

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme by The Story Siren!

For Review:
13 to Life by Shannon Delany (SOO excited!)
Blood Fued by Alyxandra Harvey
Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala
Dark Flame by Alyson Noel

What did you get??

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event spotlighting upcoming releases we are highly anticipating. It is hosted at
Breaking the Spine.

To be published on February 15, 2011

Title: Angelfire
Author: Courtney Allison Moulton
Pages: 453
Summary: When seventeen-year-old Ellie starts seeing reapers - monstrous
creatures who devour humans and send their souls to Hell - she finds herself on
the front lines of a supernatural war between archangels and the Fallen and
faced with the possible destruction of her soul.

A mysterious boy named
Will reveals she is the reincarnation of an ancient warrior, the only one
capable of wielding swords of angelfire to fight the reapers, and he is an
immortal sworn to protect her in battle. Now that Ellie's powers have been
awakened, a powerful reaper called Bastian has come forward to challenge her. He has employed a fierce assassin to eliminate her - an assassin who has already
killed her once.

While balancing her dwindling social life and
reaper-hunting duties, she and Will discover Bastian is searching for a dormant
creature believed to be a true soul reaper. Bastian plans to use this weapon to
ignite the End of Days and to destroy Ellie's soul, ending her rebirth cycle
forever. Now, she must face an army of Bastian's most frightening reapers,
prevent the soul reaper from consuming her soul, and uncover the secrets of her
past lives - including truths that may be too frightening to remember.

My Thoughts: Very exciting! And isn't that cover beautiful? Reminds me of Hush Hush's color scheme though. Doesn't sound like it's going to have romance in it but i'm willing to bet that Ellie and Will are going to dive in the romance pool. The plot is very unique, it'll be exciting to read a good book about other supernatural be-ings other then werewolves, vampires, faeries and witches. (Not that I don't love my my mythical characters, change is just always good) ;)

Monday, June 21, 2010

Glimmerglass by Jenna Black

Title: Glimmerglass
Author: Jenna Black
Pages: 294
Published: May 25, 2010
Summary: Dana Hathaway doesn’t know it yet, but she’s in big trouble. When her alcoholic mom shows up at her voice recital drunk, Dana decides she’s had it with being her mother’s keeper, so she packs her bags and heads to stay with her mysterious father in Avalon: the only place on Earth where the regular, everyday world and the magical world of Faerie intersect. But from the moment Dana sets foot in Avalon, everything goes wrong, for it turns out she isn't just an ordinary teenage girl—she's a Faeriewalker, a rare individual who can travel between both worlds, and who can bring magic into the human world and technology into Faerie.
Soon, she finds herself tangled up in a cutthroat game of Fae politics. Someone's trying to kill her, and everyone wants something from her, even her newfound friends and family. Suddenly, life with her alcoholic mom doesn't sound half bad, and Dana would do anything to escape Avalon and get back home. Too bad both her friends and her enemies alike are determined not to let her go..."

My Thoughts:
I find myself starting to really love all faerie books. After Holly Black's modern faerie tale books, I've been drawn into the world of Fae. As soon as I saw the cover for Glimmerglass I decided to read the summary and what do you know? Another faerie book! Sweeet.

Dana is half fairy and half human, but she has lived with her alcoholic human mother all her life. Fed up with taking care of her mother, she runs off to go live with her father. But her father isn't human, he's a powerful faerie king. Dana strongly thinks it's gotta be better over there but sadly she has no clue what she's walking into.
Jenna Black created a very unique world of Avalon. It is the one place that's both within the borders of Faerie and the mortal world, co-existing with each other. In Avalon, both technology and magic works.
When Dana goes to Avalon, she learns she is a rare faeriewalker. An individual who can bring magic into the human world or technology into the fairy realm. Everyone wants her for themselves, making her a deadly pawn in the politics of the Fae. (She's the equivalent of a nuclear missile.) Dana learns that everyone has their own agenda, and doesn't know just who to trust.

I like Jenna Black's world of Fae she created, it's very unique from other author's takes of the Fae. The character's are fascinating in their own way and the overall story was evenly-paced. There's not a whole lot of action as I would've liked and there is a lot left open and dangling at the end. With that aside, it still managed to grab my attention.
Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I can't wait for the second book in the series, coming out 2011!

Sunday, June 20, 2010

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren
and inspired by Alea from Pop Culture Junkie

This week has been very slow so I only have one book that I got to share with you.
I'm hearing and seeing a lot of good thing about The Hunger Games, and it bugs me that I have yet to read it before. So last night, actually, I went ahead a picked up a copy. I didn't want to get the second book till I knew for myself it was a great book. ^.^

For Review:
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

What'd you get this week?

Friday, June 18, 2010

Twilight Contest Update!

When I see a contest that I really want to win, I always go in it with high hopes. And I'm talking HIGH people! The contest finally comes to an end and I quickly go over to see if, by some lucky chance, I won.
Disappointment. *cue sad face* oh well, maybe next time!
Hehe. So I know what it's like to not be that lucky number drawn, that's why I have decided to make the odds a little more in everyone's favor by not only having one but TWO winners!

Winner #1 will get the Twilight Saga chess piece bookends and a copy of The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner

Winner #2 will get a copy of Eclipse: Collector's Edition (since were honoring the release of the Eclipse movie )

True Blood Season 3

Since I am staying with my sister right now, I'm not able to watch some of my favorite shows that are on cable. Like for instance, True Blood! Darn HBO!
So I remembered this awesome site called TvDuck where you can watch all your favorite TV shows online for free. I stayed up late last night and watched the first episode of True Blood season 3 and let me tell you...i can't wait till the next episode! I think I like the show more than the books by Charlaine Harris. I usually tend to like the books more than the shows/movies made after them, like Harry Potter or Twilight.
But True Blood and The Vampire Diaries are my little exception! I guess because of the smoking hot guys? ;)

Anyway, for those of you who have yet to watch the first episode of the new season, here's a little preview of what True Blood season 3 will offer.

What do you like more? The books or the show?

Thursday, June 17, 2010

Book Blogger Hop #1

It's Friday so that means...it's time for the Book Blogger Hop. The hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books. If you want to participate head over to her blog and sign up!
For those of you who are stopping by from the hop, hello and welcome to my blog! :)
Do you like contests? Take a look on my sidebar for a list of my current contests going on.
Fell free to take a look around and leave feedback if you want. I like knowing ways I can improve my blog to make it better.
Don't forget to become a follower if you like what you see.

Insatiable by Meg Cabot

Title: Insatiable
Author: Meg Cabot
Published: June 8, 2010

Pages: 451
Summary: Sick of vampires?

So is Meena Harper.
But her boss is making her write about them anyway, even though Meena doesn’t believe in them.
Not that Meena isn’t familiar with the supernatural. See, Meena Harper knows how you’re going to die (not that you’re going to believe her; no one ever does).
But not even Meena’s precognition can prepare her for what happens when she meets—then makes the mistake of falling in love with—Lucien Antonescu, a modern-day prince with a bit of a dark side . . . a dark side a lot of people, like an ancient society of vampire-hunters, would prefer to see him dead for.
The problem is, he already is dead. Maybe that’s why he’s the first guy Meena’s ever met that she could see herself having a future with. See, while Meena’s always been able to see everyone else’s future, she’s never been able look into her own.
And while Lucien seems like everything Meena has ever dreamed of in a boyfriend, he might turn out to be more like a nightmare.
Now might be a good time for Meena to start learning to predict her own future . . .
If she even has one.

My Thoughts:
I must admit, I was so thrilled when I found out Meg Cabot was going to write a modern sequel to the infamous Bram Stoker's Dracula. Come on, what vampire fan out there doesn't love Bram Stoker's Dracula? The day it came out, I made Chelsea (sister) and our friend Britny come with me to pick up a copy. I was a little confused when it wasn't anywhere on display or the shelves so I thought I mixed up the dates. Turns out they just didn't put them out yet, so one of the workers got me a copy from the back. :)
(Yes, it was like 9 in the morning. ^.^ Early for me but it sure was worth it!)

Meg Cabot's Insatiable is a delightful read full of romance, humor and suspense.
The story focuses around New York Soap-opera writer Meena Harper, who is sick of the vampire craze going on. In order to jump start their ratings, Meena is assigned to write a vampire storyline.
As far as supernatural goes, Meena has a secret that's not so normal. She can see when a person is about to die.
Things get complicated when she meets Lucien Antonescu, a Romanian prince and son of the one and only, Dracula. Being the ruler of Vampires, he has decreed that vampires not kill mortals. As always, not all vampires follow that particular rule, forcing Lucien to go to New York to try and stop one from leaving a trail of dead bodies behind him.
Meena soon find herself in the middle of a vampire war.

I love how Meg Cabot poked a little fun at all the vampire craze going on around us. It definitely had some very funny moments. The only thing that made me not want to give it 5 stars was that it was really slow in the beginning. It quickly picked up during the second half though and left me not wanting to put it down. The end was left very open so I'm assuming this is going to be the first book of a series. I really hope so! I want to know what will happen to the fun and spunky characters Cabot created!

50 Followers Contest

**EDITED** - July 12, 2010! ------

As I promised, I will now begin another giveaway because I reached over 50 followers!
YAY! *claps*
Up for grab are some new releases this year. Winner will get to pick 1 from the list below. If I get to 100 followers, I will add 1 or 2 more winners. (Depends how many people enter)
More books might be added too! Since July has some pretty amazing books being published.

Since i've past 150 followers, I will add 6 more books! If I can get 75 people to enter the actual giveaway, I will add another winner or the winner will get two (2) books!!
If I get up to 200 followers before July 30th, I will add books for pre-order!!!

**Contest Rules**

-MUST be a follower (the whole point of the contest).
-Leave a comment below saying which book you would like and your email.
-NOT international, unless you're willing to pay for shipping, sorry
-The winner(s) will be chosen using Random.org
-Contest ends midnight EST on July 29, 2010
See? Simple and fair :)

The books:
Glimmerglass by Jenna Black
Insatiable by Meg Cabot
Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon
A Blue so Dark by Holly Schindler
Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready
Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson
13 to Life by Shannon Delany
Blood Fued by Alyxandra Harvey
Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala
Linger by Maggie Stiefvater
Dark Flame by Alyson Noel

Betrayal (Immortal) by Gillian Shields


Comment on THIS post and say which book you would like and remember to include your email!Have a suggestion on a book I should add? Let me know :)I will try to announce the winners by August 1, 2010. (My birthday is the 3rd, so I will do it as soon as I can!)

If you entered before I added the new books, don't re-enter. I will email you if you win and you can tell me which new book you would like.

Waiting on Wednesday (on Thursday)

Yesterday was a busy day for me, so I wasn't able to put my 'Waiting on Wednesday' up. But i'll do it today since this one is going to be good! ;)

But first, I would really like to thank the amazing Eleni from La Femme Readers for helping me kick-start my Twlight Saga Bookened Contest!

You're awesome!

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event spotlighting upcoming releases we are highly anticipating. It is hosted at

Breaking the Spine.

Releases as hardcover on
February 22, 2011
Title: The Iron Thorn
Author: Caitlin Kittredge
Pages: 512
A series set in a Lovecraftian industrial city in an alternate 1950s that centers on a mechanically gifted young girl approaching her 16th birthday, the age at which everyone in her family goes insane, leaving it up to her to unravel the mystery of their madness--and save the world. It is 1955...but not the 1955 you know. The Witchcraft Scare polarizes America. Magic is outlawed and practitioners are burned. And one girls has discovered that
magic is neither fiction nor fairy tale, but very much alive... Aoife Grayson is a month shy of sixteen, the age when everyone in her family goes mad. An orphan in the steam-powered city of Lovecraft, Massachusetts, Aoife escapes the confines of her repressive boarding school and along with her best friend Sam and outlaw guide Dean, sets out to discover the secret of her family's madness. What she discovers is a world of forbidden magic and faerie curses, and a dark secret that has shadowed the Grayson family for generations. Aoife must choose between keeping the secret or keeping her sanity, and unravel the dark machinations of the Winter Court of the Fae before it's too late to save her city...or herself.

My Thoughts:
What! Another Fae book? I'm okay with that ;)
I'm really liking the cover and how this book is definetly going to be different than other faerie books out there. I'm looking forward to see the world that Caitlin Kittredge creates and how she portrays the 1950's. And it's 512 pages! I love long books, more room for detail and imagination.
I don't know if I like the main character's name though...Aoife. Hmm.

What are your thoughts on The Iron Thorn?

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

~ Grab your current read
~ Open to a random page
~ Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
~ BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
~ Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teasers:

"And then, just as it seemed the first of those claws had to sink into her scalp, the back of her nack, her unprotected spine, she felt something-or rather someone-drop on top of her, envelop her, blocking out the light and sound almost completely.
And she realized, risking a brief upward glance, that it was the man who'd
been standing next to her...the tall, good-looking man with the nice hair, in the expensive coat."

-Pg.71 "Insatiable" by Meg Cabot

Upcoming YA Releases

Have more you'd like to share? Just leave a comment! :)

July is a VERY good month :P

1. 7 Souls by Barnabas MillerJordan Orlando - July 13, 2010
2. Dark Flame (The Immortals) by Alyson Noel - July 6, 2010
3. Sleepless by Cyn Balog - July 13, 2101

4. Vampire High: Sophomore Year by Douglas Rees - July 13, 2010
5. Fat Vampire: A Never Coming of Age Story by Adam Rex - July 27, 2010
6. The Fool's Girl by Celia Rees - July 20, 2010

7. Silence and Stone (Faeries' Promise) by Kathleen Duey - July 6, 2010
8. Linger by Maggie Stiefvater - July 20, 2010
9.Betrayal (Immortal) by Gillian Shields - July 21, 2010

Blog Templates by Delicious Design Studio